California License Plate Search
The search for vehicle records in the state of California through a license plate number can be done in a few ways:
1. Private databases purchase, organize, and sell information to consumers. These databases are run by private companies, not State or Federal government organizations. This is the easiest option for consumers looking for information because it involves the least amount of work.
Our sponsors are an example of a private database that sells information. Simply start your search by typing a license plate number in the search field on the right.
2. Another option is to request the information from the state. For the state of California, the form you need is located here:
California Vehicle Records Request Form
3. One more option is to hire a private investigator. This is the most expensive option, but it could prove useful.
California State Motor Vehicle Agency:
One California agency responsible for the administration of California license plate and driving related records is the California Department of Motor Vehicles.
California Department of Motor Vehicles contact info:
Phone Number: 1-800-777-0133
Office Address: California Department of Motor Vehicles
1120 N Street
Sacramento, CA 94269
The recovery of license plate records varies by state. In some cases, license plate and driving records may only be accessible by the registered owner of the vehicle. In addition, there may be a fee to access the information.
The California Department of Transportation is another agency that keeps driving and license plate related records in California. Contacting this agency, you may find information related to drivers licenses, registrations, renewals, and more.
California Department Of Transportation contact info:
Phone Number: 916 654-5266
Office Address: 1120 N Street
Sacramento, CA 94723
California DMV Resources
The California Department of Motor Vehicles will notify drivers when points are incurred against their driving records. When a driver has received half of the points required for a license revocation, the DMV will issue the driver a warning letter. Once any driver gets within one point of the allowed revocation limit, the DMV will inform you with a Notification of Intent to Suspend License, letting you know that you close to losing your driver’s license. If any driver’s license is suspended due to points, the DMV will send the driver a Notice of Revocation or Suspension of Driving Privileges.
One-point violations to a driving record are normally cleared after three years. Points for incurring serious violations like DUI and hit-and-run incidents remain for 10 years. Failure to appear in court for any traffic violation will remain on the driving record for five years. Failure to appear in court for a DUI will remain on record for 10 years. Those violations which require a court appearance will be noted on the violation itself. If one should choose to pay the fine, this is possible through mail or in person. Every county or municipal court has a website with clear directions as to how to do this. If anyone should choose to challenge the ticket, the fine becomes “bail” that has to be paid and if adjudicated in the driver’s favor, it will be returned. A trial date will be set at that time as well.
There are categories of convictions that lead to a suspended, revoked or canceled driver’s license. There are three terms to describe them:
License suspension which means temporary loss of driving privileges. License revocation which is the termination of a person’s driving privileges. With revocation a new driver’s license may be obtained after the period of revocation; and license cancellation, which is termination of a person driver’s license. A driver whose license has been canceled can immediately apply for a new license. Any number of speeding tickets,a high number of traffic tickets and/or points could lead to the suspension or revocation of your driver’s license in California. Currently, the California Department of Motor Vehicles will suspend anyone’s driver’s license that accumulates four points or more within a 12 month period. The DMV assigns one point for violations including speeding, making an unsafe lane change or an at-fault accident and two points are given for upper level violations such as hit-and-run, DUI, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license. A commercial driver can also face stiffer penalties for traffic violations than a non-commercial driver. A commercial driver’s license holder in California will incur points at one and one-half the rate of a non-commercial driver.